Forms for Boaters
NOTE: In order to view or print most of these forms, you will need a PDF viewer. Adobe Acrobat Reader, free software made for this purpose, is available for download at www.adobe.com
Recreational Boating Accident Report [64k; PDF] CG 3865: A boat operator is required by law to submit this form if involved in an accident that results in
- loss of life or disappearance from a vessel;
- an injury that requires treatment beyond first aid;
- combined damage in excess of $500; or
- complete loss of vessel.
Reports in death and injury cases must be submitted within 48 hours. Reports in other cases must be submitted within 10 days.
Boat/Motor Theft Data Sheet [78k; PDF] DNR 8256
Boating History for Captain's License
Captain's License Boating History Request [20k; PDF] DNR 8479; To request a list of all the boats you have owned/registered in Ohio for the purpose of obtaining a Captain's License.
Notice of Change of Address/Destruction of Watercraft/Change of Ownership [13k; PDF] DNR 8455; To notify us if your address changes, if the boat owner changes, or if the boat is destroyed.
Duplicate Order Blank [206k; PDF] DNR 8456; To purchase a copy of your current registration, or to replace a set of decals for your boat
Certified Watercraft Registration Application [117k; PDF] DNR 8460; To apply for a boat registration or Affidavit of Ownership for non-titled boats
Power of Attorney for Watercraft Registration Only [12k; PDF] DNR 8464
Certified Watercraft Alternative Registration Application [224k; PDF] DNR 8474; To apply for an Alternative Registration for hand-powered vessels
Notarized Application for Historic ID Plate [29k; PDF] DNR 8477; To apply for a historic designation for your boat that is more than 25 years old
Watercraft/Outboard Motor Affidavit of Ownership [209k; PDF] DNR 8503; Statement of boat/motor ownership that lists liens, previous owner, how acquired, etc. Requires notary.
Registration Application for a Documented Vessel [239k; PDF] DNR 8511; For US Coast Guard Documented Vessels (large vessels of 5 tons or more) that need an Ohio Watercraft Registration
Title Search Request [205k; PDF] DNR 8513; To find the current owner of a titled boat or an outboard motor of 10HP or more. If you want the past owners of a titled boat/outboard motor, then you need to indicate that explicitly on the form.
Surviving Spouse Affidavit [181k; PDF] DNR 8514; Affidavit required to transfer ownership of one boat and/or one motor from a deceased owner to the surviving spouse. Requires notary.
Minor Consent [179k; PDF] DNR 8515; Consent for minor to acquire/dispose of boat or motor. Requires parent/guardian signature and notary.
Request for Refund [21k; PDF] DNR 8206; two pages